Skip to main content

Australia’s Top 50 Vineyards 2022

By Wednesday 14 December 2022August 26th, 2023No Comments

The 2022 Vineyard of the Year Awards Top 50 has been revealed.

The awards were created in 2020 to place vineyards across the nation at the heart of the Australian wine story.

The judges narrowed the field to the 50 that best exemplified the values of sustainability, innovation, provenance and growing great wine.

“As thousands of Australian grapegrowers and winemakers struggle with the most sodden start to the growing season they’ve ever experienced – not to mention the flood devastation suffered by many, and the ongoing fallout from the pandemic – it’s good to be reminded that many vignerons across the country are also looking beyond the here-and-now, to long-term sustainability, regeneration and exciting quality improvements in their vineyards,” says awards panellist Max Allen.

“The 50 finalists in this, the third Vineyard of the Year Awards, show that the spirits of resilience and innovation and custodianship are alive and well in our viticultural community, despite all the challenges hurled at it by Mother Nature and world events.”

A group of leading experts on viticulture were enlisted to personally review all the applicants. Dan Falkenberg, Kerry DeGaris, Kim Chalmers and Melissa Brown joined Max Allen in arriving at the Top 50.

“We all know great wines start in the vineyard, and so do sustainable and regenerative philosophies,” says awards panellist Melissa Brown.

“Our soils, and the biodiversity within and surrounding it, we nurture not only for the vines that grow upon it, but also for the improvement of the land for future generations.

“These awards are important because not only do they highlight our great vineyards and the fruit they produce, but they especially recognise the significance of these vines being farmed sustainably.”

Over coming months, will release a profile of each of these vineyards and the viticulturists/growers behind them.

Dan Falkenberg was last year’s Vineyard of the Year trophy winner with Eden Hall Vineyard.

He joined the panel this year. “The implementation of regenerative and biological farming uptake amongst the entrants is growing across all regions, and the understanding of environmental stewardship to restore landscape function woven into viticulture is truly inspirational,” he says.

Dr Kerry DeGaris, with a PhD in grapevines, says, “It’s exciting to read the passion for the rejuvenation of vineyard soils that many entrants were able to relay through their applications.

“So long the poor cousin to ‘other’ vineyard assets that regularly undergo renovation, it’s pleasing to see the diversity of treatments being trialled and becoming mainstream.

“It is truly inspiring to see the great effort and passion that viticulturists relate to producing wines of distinct character and unique complexity.

“The combination of emerging new and old viticultural practices, innovation, resourcefulness and collaboration are unique characteristics that strengthen and enable grape-growing communities to contribute and play a key role in maintaining a sustainable industry.”

Beside celebrating the achievements of 2022’s Top 50, there are four trophies to be awarded, with the winners announced by June 2023.

Top 50 Finalists

South Australia
Adelina, Clare Valley (Colin McBryde & Michael Maloney)
Alkina, Barossa Valley (Johnny Schuster & Amelia Nolan)
Angove – Warboys, McLaren Vale (Nick Bakkum)
Artwine – Springfarm, Clare Valley (Glen Kelly)
Bon View, Barossa Valley (Ralph Schrapel)
Cassini Vineyard, Kangaroo Island (Nick Dugmore & Max Dugmore)
Hayes Family – Stone Well Estate, Barossa Valley (Amanda Mader)
Hickinbotham Clarendon Vineyard, McLaren Vale (Michael Lane)
Hither & Yon – Sand Road, McLaren Vale (Richard Leask)
Kaesler, Barossa Valley (Nigel van der Zande)
Kalleske – Johann Georg, Barossa Valley (Kym Kalleske)
Koonara – Head Honcho, Coonawarra (Dru Reschke)
Land of Tomorrow – Grindstone Vineyard, Wrattonbully (Susie Harris)
Longview, Adelaide Hills (Christopher Mein)
MMAD Vineyard, McLaren Vale (Ben Jonas)
Orbis, McLaren Vale (Andrew Mackenzie & Richard Leask)
Paeroa, Matthew Brown (McLaren Vale)
Penley Estate, Coonawarra (Hans Loder)
Pewsey Vale Vineyard, Eden Valley (Brooke Howell)
Ricca Terra – 171 Jury Road, Riverland (Ashley Ratcliff)
Smallfry – Vine Vale, Barossa Valley (Wayne Ahrens & Suzi Hilder)
Tapanappa – Foggy Hill, Southern Fleurieu (Brian Croser)
Tscharke, Barossa Valley (Damien Tscharke)
Turkey Flat, Barossa Valley (Mark Przibilla)
Vinteloper, Adelaide Hills (David Bowley)
Yangarra – High Sands, McLaren Vale (Michael Lane)

Bannockburn, Geelong (Lucas Grigsby)
Crittenden Estate, Mornington Peninsula (Rollo Crittenden & Garry Crittenden)
Gembrook Hill, Yarra Valley (Andrew Marks)
Heathcote Estate, Heathcote (Tom Carson & Paul Viggers)
Jasper Hill – Georgia’s Paddock, Heathcote (Nick McNally)
Lake Moodemere, Rutherglen (Joel Chambers)
Palisade, Beechworth (Peter Bartholomew & Mark Walpole)
Quealy – Winery Vineyard, Mornington Peninsula (Lucas Blanck)
Seppelt Great Western, Great Western (James McKenzie)
Sutton Grange, Bendigo (Sue Hamilton)

New South Wales/ACT
Dark Horse, Canberra District (Dr David Carpenter)
Keith Tulloch Wine – Field of Mars, Hunter Valley (Brent Hutton)
Lark Hill, (Canberra District) Dr David Carpenter
Ravensworth, Canberra District (Bryan Martin)
Scarborough on Hermitage, Hunter Valley (Jerome Scarborough & Liz Riley)
See Saw – Annangrove Park, Orange (Brendan Jarrett)
Winmark, Broke Fordwich (Liz Riley)

Western Australia
Cape Mentelle – Estate Vineyard, Margaret River (David Moulton)
Corymbia – Rocket’s Vineyard, Swan Valley (Genevieve & Rob Mann)
Cullen, Margaret River (Vanya Cullen & Brian Martin)
Devil’s Lair, Margaret River (Simon Robertson)
Voyager – V9, Margaret River (Glen Ryan)

Savina Lane, Granite Belt (Brad Hutchings)

Stefano Lubiana, Tasmania (Steve Lubiana)


Leave a Reply