Skip to main content
AwardsNewsWomen in Wine

‘Amazing Tales Of Resilience’ The Hallmark Of 2020 Women In Wine Awards

By Tuesday 20 October 2020April 14th, 2021No Comments

The board of the Australian Women in Wine Awards (AWIWA) has announced the 2020 finalists in the sixth annual awards – the world’s only awards program for women in wine.

WBM – Australia’s Wine Business Magazine is a Gold Partner of the awards.

In a year like no other, founding AWIWA advisory board member Jeni Port said it was extremely satisfying to see that there has been a particularly strong collection of entries this year – with some new names and amazing tales of resilience.

“I think this is something that brings this year’s awards into their own,” Jeni says.

“We asked entrants to tell us about their year, including the challenges, and they all rose to the occasion.

“What’s more, their businesses often thrived. And they learnt so much more about themselves and their abilities.

“It’s been wonderful to read their stories.”

All categories have three finalists being announced today, except in the case of the Champion of Diversity and Equality, in which the judges have selected just two.

The finalists in each award category are (in alphabetical order by surname):

Cellar Door Person of the Year – sponsored by Langton’s
• Jess Greatwich – Krondorf Creek Farm (SA)
• Paris Hokin – Arlewood Estate (WA)
• Samantha Mitchell – First Drop Wines (SA)

Winemaker of the Year – sponsored by Tonnellerie Saint Martin
• Natalie Cleghorn – Yalumba & Hill-Smith Family Vineyards (SA)
• Natalie Fryer – Bellebonne Wine Company (Tas)
• Cate Looney – Brown Family Wine Group (Vic)

Viticulturist of the Year – sponsored by Wine Australia
• Brooke Howell – Yalumba Family Winemakers (SA)
• Cath Kidman – Wynns Coonawarra (SA)
• Alexandra Miller – Voyager Estate (WA)

Champion of Diversity & Equality – sponsored by Australian Grape & Wine
• Curly Haslam-Coates – Vintage Tasmania (Tas)
• Helen Strachan – Pernod Ricard Winemakers (SA)
• Owner/Operator of the Year – sponsored by Bacchus Academy
• Melissa Brown – Gemtree Wines (SA)
• Laura Carter – Unico Zelo (SA)
• Lisa Margan – Margan Estate (NSW)

Marketer of the Year – sponsored by denomination
• Trish Barry – Mastermind Consulting (NSW)
• Emily Hay – Barossa Grape & Wine Association (SA)
• Kristen Zerk – Z Wine (SA)

The seventh award category, Woman of Inspiration, is a judges’ choice award determined by the AWIWA Advisory Board. No entry is required, and the winner will be announced on the online awards night of Tuesday 24 November, started at 7.30pm AEDST.

The winners of each award category will be announced at the ceremony which – as has been done every year since its inception in 2015 – will be live streamed across the world.

This year the awards is 100 percent virtual and the live stream will take place via the Australian Women in Wine Facebook page, broadcast in partnership with Langton’s TV from their Sydney studio.

“Get ready to get your glamour on and be part of the best and most fun wine awards show of the year,” founder Jane Thomson says.

As in previous years, each wine region and wine business is being encouraged to host their own watch party to cheer on all the finalists and winners. Watch parties can be registered here on the AWIWA website to demonstrate your support.

The Australian Women in Wine Awards – owned and operated by The Fabulous Ladies’ Wine Society – celebrate and reward the work of women in the Australian wine community, and community leaders who champion equality and fairness for all sexes in the workplace.

The 2020 board members are Jeni Port, Toni Carlino, Corrina Wright, Shirley Fraser, Sarah Collingwood, Alexia Roberts and Jane Thomson (chair).

Leave a Reply