Skip to main content
Adelaide HillsAwardsNews

Peter Leske ASVO Winemaker Of The Year

By Tuesday 17 November 2020April 12th, 2021No Comments

Adelaide Hills based winemaker Peter Leske has been named 2020 Winemaker of the Year by the Australian Society of Viticulture & Oenology (ASVO).

Mark Krstic, managing director of the Australian Wine Research Institute (AWRI) has been named Viticulturist of the Year.

Peter Leske is winemaker and director at Revenir Winemaking in the Adelaide Hills, where he and a small team make a range of wines for diverse clients using an equally diverse list of grape varieties into even more diverse styles.

“He greatly enjoys the opportunities that this challenge offers for collaboration with other industry members, which he cites as one of the genuine strengths of our community,” ASVO president Brooke Howell says.

“Throughout his career, Peter has sought to increase and share collective knowledge and expertise, through roles at the AWRI and SAWIA, and most recently by assisting members of the Hills region with the making, sensory assessment and interpretation of smoke impact on hundreds of small-lot wines from affected vineyards.

“This effort has also involved working with practitioners and researchers to implement and manage related longer-term projects, which Peter hopes will add much to the future understanding of the impact of fires in viticultural regions.”

Peter says, “I am surprised and delighted to be nominated in 2020: I consider myself very fortunate to have worked with a vast range of talented people over my time in wine.”

“They have generously given and taught me much and I value every opportunity to follow their lead and share as much as I can with those around me.”

Mark Krstic (above) has more than 23 years of experience in viticulture research, R&D leadership and executive management. He holds undergraduate and post-graduate degrees in Agricultural Science from the University of Tasmania and an MBA from Mt Eliza/Queensland University.

Mark commenced his career in viticulture R&D at CSIRO, Merbein, where he conducted research on grapevine physiology, crop development and yield estimation.

Since that time he has worked in key viticulture roles at the Victorian Government’s Department of Primary Industries, the Grape and Wine Research and Development Corporation (now Wine Australia) and the Australian Wine Research Institute, leading a range of R&D initiatives.

Mark currently chairs the Australian Wine Industry Technical Conference, is a past President of the Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology (ASVO) and graduate of the Winemakers’ Federation of Australia Wine Industry Future Leaders Program (2010).

He has played a key role in smoke taint research and emergency response since 2006 and recently co-authored a book on soil health Healthy soils for healthy vines (CSIRO Publishing) with Professor Bob White. He is extremely passionate about the grape and wine sector and the outcomes that science can deliver.

“I’ve always been fascinated by all aspects of innovation in the viticulture and how that can influence what we are able to taste in the glass. I am honoured to be awarded the ASVO 2020 Viticulturist of the Year Award,” Mark says.

Other awards included:

ASVO Viticulture Paper of the Year – Dr Rob Walker, CSIRO
ASVO Oenology Paper of the Year  – Dr Vanessa Stockdale, Accolade
ASVO Dr Peter May Award – Dr Marcos Bonada, PIRSA-SARDI

The ASVO has also announced two new Fellows of the Society – Wendy Cameron MW and Nick Bulleid MW.

ASVO Award recipients are nominated by ASVO-appointed selection committees comprised of individuals who themselves are distinguished in the fields of viticulture and oenology and who demonstrate exceptional leadership ability and vision. For a list of previous ASVO Awards winners, please visit

Leave a Reply