Skip to main content

Tyrrell’s wins sixth Wine of Provenance Trophy at the Hunter Valley Wine Show

By Tuesday 28 August 2018No Comments

Tyrrell’s Wines won its sixth ‘Wine of Provenance’ Trophy at the Hunter Valley Wine Show for its 2004, 2011 and 2018 Single Vineyard Stevens Semillon.

“This is the most important trophy as it celebrates the greatest wines of the Hunter and their ability to age, improve over time and show a sense of place,” Bruce Tyrrell says.

Tyrrell’s also won the prestigious Silver Bullet Trophy, awarded by International Judge Corinne Mui, for the 2007, 2014 and 2017 Single Vineyard Stevens Shiraz.


“The Tyrrell and Stevens families have worked together since the 1993 vintage to produce Semillon and Shiraz that are individually distinctive to this vineyard and these trophies recognise that the Hunter Valley produces some of the best wines in the world that stand the test of time,” Bruce says.

Along with trophies for Best Current Semillon, Best Mature Semillon, Best Semillon, Best White Wine of the Show and Best Museum Red Wine, Tyrrell’s was awarded a total of 10 gold, 10 silver and 14 bronze medals at the Hunter Show.

Tyrrell’s this year is celebrating 160 years in the making. Established in 1858, Tyrrell’s is one of Australia’s pre-eminent and oldest family-owned wineries with vineyards extending from their historic home in the Hunter Valley to Heathcote, and headed up by fourth generation family member Bruce Tyrrell, and fifth generation Jane, John and Chris Tyrrell.

2004 / 2011 / 2018 Stevens Semillon
Iain Riggs Wine of Provenance

2007 / 2014 / 2017 Stevens Shiraz
Silver Bullet – Corinne Mui (International Judge)

2018 Stevens Semillon
Marshall-Flannery Best Current Semillon

2013 Belford Semillon
McGuigan Family Best Mature Semillon (2+yo)

2013 Belford Semillon
Maurice O’Shea Best Semillon

2013 Belford Semillon
Petrie-Drinan Best White of Show

2007 Stevens Shiraz
John Lewis Best Museum Red

Gold medals
2017 Mother’s Shiraz
2017 Hunter Valley Shiraz
2006 / 2013 Vat 1 Semillon
2006 / 2013 Belford Semillon
2005 / 2014 / 2018 Stevens Semillon 2007 Stevens Shiraz


Leave a Reply