Skip to main content

Nominations open for the prestigious Maurice O’Shea Award

By Monday 4 March 2019No Comments

McWilliam’s Wines Group, in conjunction with the Australian Wine Industry Technical Conference (AWITC), is calling for nominations for the Maurice O’Shea Award for 2019.

Instigated by the McWilliam’s family in 1990, the Maurice O’Shea Award Dinner is recognised as the most prestigious event on the wine industry calendar and was named to commemorate the legacy of one of the most iconic winemakers in Australian wine, Maurice O’Shea.

After a successful partnership was formed in 2016, this is the second time the Award Dinner is being held in conjunction with the AWITC, which also incorporates the Australian Grape & Wine Outlook Conference and the WineTech trade exhibition.

The award has recognised some of the most influential identities, initiatives and organisations within the Australian wine industry including the Len Evans Tutorial, Dr Peter Dry and The Australian Screwcap Initiative.

This year, the team are once again looking for nominations of people or organisations who are continuing to build, drive and push the Australian wine industry to be a world leader for winemaking, cultivation, innovation and technology.

McWilliam’s Wines Group CEO David Pitt said, “It is with great pride that McWilliam’s Wines Group has the opportunity to once again celebrate one of the great identities in modern winemaking, Maurice O’Shea, at the Australian Wine Industry Technical Conference this year.”

“Australia is blessed with not only a stunning landscape in which vines can thrive but passionate, driven and innovative individuals that make it what it is today. This award celebrates those people and our industry.”

James Halliday is a past winner of the award. He praised its recognition of those who have made a significant impact for the betterment of the industry, saying, “I have always regarded the Maurice O’Shea Award as the most significant award anyone in the wine fraternity/industry can achieve in their lifetime.”

2016 Maurice O’Shea Award winner – The Len Evans Tutorial – Jeff McWilliam, Sally Evans, Iain Riggs and Ian McKenzie.

AWITC chair Dan Johnson said, “The AWITC is delighted to continue its partnership with McWilliam’s Wines Group to align the Maurice O’Shea Award Dinner with the staging of this year’s collaborative event. It is highly appropriate for this prestigious award, which recognises innovation, to be held with the industry’s major technical and business conference.”

Nominations are open to any person, brand, institute, activity or entity who has shown a significant contribution to the Australian wine industry. Nominations will be taken until 18 March and can be submitted to the committee by email to

To be considered for the award, nominations require a name and any supportive collateral as to why the selected person, brand, institute, activity or entity is worthy of this award. All entries will be confidentially reviewed by a selections committee that includes representation of the MWG board, a past winner, key media influencers and younger industry leaders.

The winner will be announced at the Maurice O’Shea Award Dinner at the Australian Wine Industry Technical Conference in Adelaide on 22 July 2019.

Previous winners of the Maurice O’Shea Awards…

The Len Evans Tutorial (2016)
Dr Peter Dry (2014)
The Australian Screwcap Initiative (2012)
Philip Laffer AM (2010)
Dr John Gladstones (2008)
The late Dr Ray Beckwith OAM (2006)
The Late Guenter Prass AM (2004)
The Australian Wine Research Institute (2002)
Dr Wolf Blass AM (2000)
The Late Dr Bryce Rankine AM (1998)
Brian Croser AO (1997)
Hazel Murphy AM (1996)
James Halliday AM (1995)
The Jacob’s Creek Brand (1994)
The Late David Wynn AO (1993)
The Late Ron Potter OAM (1992)
The Late Len Evans OBE AO (1991)
The Late Max Schubert AM (1990)

Leave a Reply