Skip to main content
BusinessEventsNewsYoung Guns

Calling All Young at Heart Winemakers

By Tuesday 6 September 2016April 22nd, 2021No Comments

You know the Young Gun of Wine Awards are highly respected when an industry ‘oldie’ – Wine Australia chairman Brian Walsh – describes them as “different from all others, bringing a unique energy and vitality to the sector”.

“In the decade of its existence, the Young Gun of Wine has become an incubator for emerging talent in the Australian grape and wine community,” Brian says. “A casual perusal of the nominees since 2007 reads like a who’s who of the contemporary wine scene.”

Established in 2007 by Melbourne wine identity Rory Kent, the Young Gun of Wine has become one of the most prized wine trophies in Australia. Celebrating the finest and most innovative rising stars, it is the place to spot the best new talent and trends in wine.

In its eleventh year, the organisers of the competition have turned up the volume and expanded the format. In new developments, all winemakers entering the competition will show their wines at events around Australia in October and November, with the support of Sommeliers Australia.

Young Gun of Wine Awards

Judging will be held in March next year to determine the Top 50. In April, Alquimie magazine releases a special free publication to profile each of the Top 50. The Top 12 finalists will then be revealed in May ahead of ‘People’s Choice’ events in June, culminating with the trophy winners’ presentation.

The judges include Nick Stock, Rory Kent, Philip Rich, Josh Elias, Mike Bennie, Pip Anderson and Josephine Perry.

Go on, enter! Registrations for the eleventh annual Young Gun of Wine Awards are now open – but hurry, entries close on 16 September. Enter at For more information about the awards visit

PS: Just a word of advice: don’t worry too much about the ‘young’ bit – the judges are more interested in ‘young at heart’.

10 years of Young Guns

2016 – Josephine Perry, Dormilona

2015 – Adrian Rodda, A. Rodda Wines

2014 – Fraser McKinley, Sami Odi

2013 – Taras Ochota, Ochota Barrels

2012 – Abel Gibson, Ruggabellus

2011 – Mike Aylward, Ocean Eight

2010 – Rollo Crittenden, Crittendon/Hermanos

2009 – Colin McBryde, Adelina/Some Young Punks

2008 – Pete Schell, Spinifex

2007 – Matt Gant, First Drop/St Hallett

Leave a Reply