Skip to main content

Halliday reveals shortlist

By Wednesday 14 June 2023No Comments

The Halliday Wine Companion has announced the shortlisted wineries, winemakers and viticulturists for the 2024 Halliday Wine Companion Awards.

The new-look Halliday tasting team is comprised of nine panelists including new chief editor Campbell Mattinson, one of the founding editors of Halliday magazine in 2012 and a Halliday Wine Companion reviewer since 2013.

This year’s winners were determined through a series of tastings and round-table discussions.

Each panelist is responsible for tasting and reviewing wines from a specific region around the country.

It’s a year-round process which allows for continuity, connection and specialist expertise.

The tasting team is comprised of James Halliday AM, Campbell Mattinson, Dave Brookes, Jane Faulkner, Jeni Port, Mike Bennie, Ned Goodwin MW, Philip Rich and Shanteh Wale.

They came together in April to blind taste, examine and finalise candidates from their respective regions for each awards category, before deciding the ultimate winners.

This year, more than 8,500 wines were tasted, and over 50 new wineries discovered – the panel has carefully selected the top-rated Australian wines, winemakers, wineries and viticulturists.

The Halliday Wine Companion Awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday 2 August at the Stokehouse in St Kilda before the release of the 2024 Halliday Wine Companion the next day.



All Saints Estate – Rutherglen
Bleasdale Vineyards – Langhorne Creek
First Creek Wines – Hunter Valley
Giant Steps – Yarra Valley
Leogate Estate Wines – Hunter Valley
Oakridge Wines – Yarra Valley
Penley Estate – Coonawarra
Pepper Tree Wines – Hunter Valley
Yalumba – Eden Valley
Yangarra Estate Vineyard – McLaren Vale


Colin McBryde – Adelina Wines, Clare Valley
Gerald Naef – Patina Wines, Orange
Jim Chatto – Pepper Tree Wines, Hunter Valley
Kate Goodman – Penley Estate, Coonawarra
Mark Messenger – Juniper Estate, Margaret River
Michael Downer – Murdoch Hill, Adelaide Hills
Paul Dahlenburg – Eldorado Road & Baileys of Glenrowan, Beechworth/Glenrowan
Sam Middleton – Mount Mary, Yarra Valley
Samantha Connew – Stargazer, Tasmania


Bart Maloney – Vasse Felix, Margaret River
Dr Dylan Grigg – Consultant, Various
Jacob Stein – Robert Stein Vineyard, Mudgee
Liz Riley – Scarborough Wine Co & Mistletoe Wines, Hunter Valley
Mark Walpole – Fighting Gully Road, Beechworth
Michael Lane – Yangarra Estate Vineyard & Hickinbotham Clarendon Vineyard, McLaren Vale
Rhys Thomas – Swinney, Frankland River
Stuart Proud – Thousand Candles, Yarra Valley


Billy Button Wines – Alpine Valleys
Bleasdale Vineyards – Langhorne Creek
Bondar Wines – McLaren Vale
Bremerton Wines – Langhorne Creek
Briar Ridge Vineyard – Hunter Valley
Carillion Wines – Hunter Valley
Dappled Wines – Yarra Valley
De Bortoli – Yarra Valley
Mordrelle Wines – Adelaide Hills
Oakridge Wines – Yarra Valley
Two Hands Wines – Barossa Valley
Xanadu Wines – Margaret River


Entropy Wines – Gippsland
Fleet Wines – Gippsland
Gaffy & Neal – Mornington Peninsula
Gentle Folk – Adelaide Hills
Joshua Cooper Wines – Victoria
MMAD – McLaren Vale
Neldner Road – Barossa Valley
Nightfall Wines – Coonawarra
Terrason Wines – Victoria
Winmark Wines – Hunter Valley


Anderson & Marsh – Alpine Valleys
Curator Wine Company – Barossa Valley
Emilian – Yarra Valley
Mount Eyre Vineyards – Hunter Valley
Topper’s Mountain Wines – New England

Photo: Yangarra Estate’s new cellar door.

Related content 

Glen Goodall Halliday Winemaker of The Year

Krondorf Wines Halliday Grenache Challenge

Brokenwood Legend Iain Riggs Goes Out On Top With Halliday Wine Of The Year

Leave a Reply