Skip to main content
Len Evans TutorialNews

Lucky Twelve Named For LET 2022

By Thursday 16 September 2021November 1st, 2023No Comments

Twelve Australian wine professionals have been announced as the next participants of the Len Evans Tutorial, to be held in November 2022.

The 2021 Len Evans Tutorial has been cancelled due to uncertainly around national travel restrictions.

The 12 successful students were selected from “an extraordinarily strong field” of over 150 candidates and will attend what is said to be ‘the greatest wine school on earth’ in the Hunter Valley.

The 2022 students are:

Frank Butera Bass River VIC
Andrew Duff Tempus Two NSW
Penny Grant Shaw + Smith QLD
Ben Harris Wynns SA
Erin Larkin Wine writer WA
Dylan McMahon Seville Estate VIC
Genevieve Mann Corymbia Wines WA
Ed Merrison CellarHand VIC
Ben Mullen Mulline VIC
Tim Pelquest-Hunt Pernod Ricard Winemakers SA
Andrea Pritzker MW Educator NSW
Nadja Wallington ChaLou Wines NSW


The Len Evans Tutorial will take place Monday 31 October to Friday 4 November 2022, with 20th anniversary celebrations taking place on Sunday 30 October.

Over its 20 years, the Len Evans Tutorial has proved to be an invaluable training ground for its scholars, many of whom have gone on to become wine show chairs and senior wine judges, industry leaders and better wine professionals.  This is the legacy of the Tutorial and Len Evans’ vision.

Principal Sponsors for 2022 include: Brokenwood, Daniel Pontifex Memorial Scholarship Trust, De Iuliis Wines, Dr Edge, Eden Road, Handpicked Wines, Jackson Family Wines, Leeuwin Estate, Merivale Group, Mount Pleasant, Oakdene, Riedel, Shaw + Smith, Singapore Airlines, Sydney Royal Show, Tahbilk, Tapanappa, TarraWarra Estate, Torbreck Vintners, Trevor Drayton Scholarship Fund, Tyrrell’s, Vinomofo, Yalumba and Yarra Yering. Philanthropist Basil Sellers is Patron of the Len Evans Tutorial.

All tuition, accommodation, travel, wine and food is covered by Tutorial sponsors and donors.

Applications for the 2023 tutorial will open in June 2023.

The Len Evans Tutorial was founded by Len Evans AO OBE in 2001. It is a not-for-profit organisation funded entirely by donations and sponsorships from companies and individuals related to the wine industry. All tutors and pourers volunteer their time each year to run the Tutorial.

Board members are Iain Riggs AM (chair), Sarah Crowe, Sally Evans, James Halliday AM, Basil Sellers AM and Michael Hill Smith AM MW.

Photograph: James Halliday (Chris Elfes).

Leave a Reply