Skip to main content
EventsMcLaren ValeNewsWine Shows

McLaren Vale Bushing King Steve Pannell Continues Incredible Form

By Wednesday 2 November 2016April 22nd, 2021No Comments
Steve Pannell

Steve Pannell has been crowned the 2016 Bushing King – the McLaren Vale Wine Show’s top honour – for the second year in a row.

It continues an incredible winning run for the popular winemaker, who won the 2014 Jimmy Watson Trophy with the 2013 S.C. Pannell Adelaide Hills Syrah.

The 2015 S.C. Pannell Touriga Cabernet Mataro was the highest-scoring wine of the 52nd McLaren Vale Wine Show as judged by an impressive panel of international and Australian judges including Adam Dromi of The Wine House LA, Dave Bicknell and David LeMire MW.

Chair of judges Jim Chatto praised the region’s emerging varietals.

“My brief to the judges was simple: ‘look for delicious regional wines of natural fruit character, balance and harmony, regardless of variety and or style,” he said.

“Look for wines which complement the place, the cuisine and the lifestyle that is McLaren Vale.

“Every time I visit McLaren vale I am blown away by the enthusiasm and energy throughout the industry. McLaren Vale is easily one of the most dynamic and exciting wine regions in Australia today.”

The McLaren Vale Wine Show received 728 entries from 102 producers, with gold medals being awarded to 34 different producers.

Grenache-dominant blends were the one of the strongest classes of the show, with a large portion of the gold medal wines awarded in the varietal class, reinforcing McLaren Vale’s declaration as Australia’s leading Grenache producing region.

All gold medal winning wines will be available for the public to taste at the McLaren Vale Gold Medals Meet Leigh Street open air event on Friday 11 November.

Most successful exhibitor: Shingleback Wines.
Best small producer: 2014 Zerella Home Block Shiraz.
Best single vineyard wine – any style other than Shiraz: 2015 S.C. Pannell Touriga Cabernet Mataro.
Best single vineyard viticulturist: Richard Leaske.
Best single vineyard shiraz: 2014 Zerella Home Block Shiraz.
Best grenache: 2015 Willunga 100 The Hundred Grenache.
Best shiraz: 2015 Serafino Sorrento Shiraz.
Best cabernet sauvignon: 2015 Hardy Chronicles Cabernet Sauvignon.
Best museum wine: 2010 Shingleback D Block Cabernet Sauvignon.
Best McLaren Vale icon wine: 2009, 2012 and 2015 Serafino Cabernet Sauvignon.
International judge’s wine of show: 2016 Chalk Hill Vermentino.
Chairperson’s trophy: 2015 S.C. Pannell Grenache Shiraz Touriga.

Leave a Reply