Skip to main content
AwardsNewsYarra Valley

National recognition for Yarra wine

By Sunday 18 June 2023No Comments

Yarra Yering Underhill Shiraz has won the top award at the National Wine Show for the second time in four years.

Underhill Shiraz 2021 was awarded the Prime Minister’s Trophy for Champion Wine of Show at the show. The 2018 vintage took out the top gong at the 2019 show.

Yarra Yering winemaker Sarah Crowe was presented with the award by Minister for Trade and Tourism, Don Farrell, at the National Press Club of Australia.

National Wine Show chair of judges Jim Chatto described the winning wine as a perfectly pitched rendition of a great cool-climate Shiraz.

“The wine stood out for its sublime fruit purity and wonderful balance,” Jim says.

“It’s a delicious wine that could come from no other place on earth.”

Jim says a surprise this year was the red varietal class being the second biggest of the show.

“These newer to Australia varieties are fast being embraced by the industry and consumers alike. It’s a testament to their suitability to our largely hot and arid climate,” he says.

“We’ve seen a move towards lighter, brighter and more versatile wine styles.

“Not lacking in structure, but focused on intensity of flavour, instead of concentration, aligning strongly with consumer preference these days.

“The quality of Australian wine has never been better.

“We are truly making wines that stand up on the world stage.”

Platinum partner Endeavour Group says consumer demand was increasing for lighter, medium-style red wines.

“Pinot Noir is driving this movement and is now comfortably our third-biggest selling red variety but there’s been a strong demand for Grenache, Gamay, Tempranillo, Sangiovese, Nero d’Avola and other lighter style reds,” Endeavour Group head of fine wine Andrew Shedden says.

“These crunchy, accessible red wines offer a lot of versatility, they’re highly palatable and really complement the huge food trend we’re seeing in Australia.

“These styles collectively account for around 20 percent of red wine sales and have seen more than a 60 percent increase in sales in the past five years.”

A special recognition award was made to James Halliday, who has been the patron of the National Wine Show for more than 40 years.

“His stewardship has transformed the show into what is now widely recognised as the nation’s most important wine awards, one of few in the world whose federated model means only wines that have already won gold or silver medals in qualifying regional and city shows make it to the judging table,” show chair Andy Gregory says.

National Wine Show of Australia trophy winners

Prime Minister’s Trophy for Champion Wine of Show
Yarra Yering 2021 Underhill Shiraz

James Halliday Red Wine of Show
Yarra Yering 2021 Underhill Shiraz

Len Evans Memorial White Wine of Show
Deep Woods Estate 2021 Reserve Chardonnay

Sparkling Trophy
House of Arras 2014 Blanc de blancs

White Varietal Trophy
De Bortoli 2022 Ti Amo Fiano

Sauvignon Blanc Trophy
Deep Woods Estate 2022 Sauvignon Blanc

Riesling Trophy
Bream Creek Vineyard 2019 ‘Old Vine’ Reserve Riesling

Semillon Trophy
Tyrrell’s Vineyards 2019 Pokolbin Hills Semillon

Chardonnay Trophy
Deep Woods Estate 2021 Reserve Chardonnay

Rose Trophy
Pernod Ricard Winemakers 2022 Barose

Red Varietal Trophy
Bleasdale Vineyards 2021 Second Innings Malbec

Pinot Trophy
Bay of Fires 2021 Pinot Noir

Grenache Trophy
Willunga 100 2021 Smart Vineyard Clarendon Grenache

Grenache Blends Trophy
Stage Door Wine Co 2021 GSM

Shiraz Trophy
Yarra Yering 2021 Underhill Shiraz

Shiraz Blends Trophy
Bleasdale Vineyards 2021 Broadside Shiraz Cabernet Sauvignon Malbec

Cabernet Sauvignon Trophy
Xanadu 2019 Cabernet Sauvignon

Cabernet Blends Trophy
Yarra Yering 2021 Agincourt Cabernet Malbec

Alternate Red Blends Trophy
Big Easy Radio 2020 Funtime Fountain Sangiovese Montepulciano

Fortified Trophy
Morris Wines Cellar Reserve Grand Muscat

Sweet White Trophy
Berton Vineyard 2019 Reserve Botrytis Semillon

Photo: Sarah Crowe with Don Farrell.

Leave a Reply