Skip to main content
Hunter ValleyLen Evans TutorialNews

Off to ‘the greatest wine school on earth’

By Thursday 3 August 2023August 9th, 2023No Comments

Twelve Australian wine professionals have been announced as the next participants of the Len Evans Tutorial, to be held in the Hunter Valley from 30 October.

The 12 successful scholars were selected from more than 180 candidates, the most ever received in the 21-year history of the Tutorial, and will attend what is said to be ‘the greatest wine school on earth’.

The 2023 students are:

Steve Baraglia
Chief winemaker, Pikes Wines, Pike & Joyce Wines, Naked Run, SA

Andre Bondar
Owner and winemaker, Bondar Wines, SA

Emma Farrelly
Director of wine, The State Buildings, Como The Treasury, WA

Jack Glover
Marketing director, Accolade Wines, NSW

Liz Heidenreich
Winemaker, Liz Heidenreich Wines, Peter Teakle Wines, SA

Louella Mathews
Group sommelier, Trippas White Group, NSW

Kaylene Reynolds
Sales, marketing and education, Prince Wine Store, Victoria

Tim Shand
Chief Winemaker, Voyager Estate, WA

Kate Sturgess
Winemaker, Brokenwood Wines, NSW

Alister Timms
Winemaker, Shadowfax Winery, Victoria

Matthew Paul Turnbull
Owner, A Good Bunch, SA

Penelope Vine
Head sommelier, Trader House (Cutler & Co and Marion), Victoria

Sally Evans, chair of the Board says, “As always it was a difficult decision choosing who should attend the Tutorial, even more so in 2023 with record applications.

“I know the entire board is excited about the strength, diversity and backgrounds of this year’s candidates and we can’t wait to welcome everyone to the Hunter.”

Over the decades, the Len Evans Tutorial has proved to be an invaluable training ground for its scholars, many of whom have gone on to become wine show chairs and senior wine judges, industry leaders and better wine professionals.

Philanthropist Basil Sellers continues as Patron of the Len Evans Tutorial.

All tuition, accommodation, travel, wine and food is covered by Tutorial sponsors and donors.

The Len Evans Tutorial was founded by Len Evans AO OBE in 2001.

It is a not-for-profit organisation funded entirely by donations and sponsorships from companies and individuals related to the wine industry.

All tutors and pourers volunteer their time each year to run the Tutorial.

The Board members are Sally Evans (chair), Tom Carson, Samantha Connew, Sarah Crowe, James Halliday AM, Michael Hill Smith AM MW and Iain Riggs AM.

Leave a Reply