Skip to main content
Hunter ValleyNews

The Wine Marvel That Is Vat 1 Semillon Strikes Again in NSW

By Sunday 29 October 2017No Comments

Tyrrell’s 2005 Vat 1 Semillon won the NSW Governor’s Trophy for Best in Show at the NSW Wine Awards announced at Pier One Sydney Harbour on Friday.

Chair of judges Dave Brookes said: “The line-up of wines in this year’s trophy judging was fantastic and it was a tough decision, but we eventually awarded the ultimate title to the Tyrrell’s 2005 Vat 1 Semillon from the Hunter Valley, a wine whose provenance is without question, having now amassed some 31 trophies in its wine show career.

“The wine’s history also runs deep within the NSW Wine Awards, as in 1997 (only the second year the awards had been held) the 1992 Vat 1 Semillon also won the title of wine of the year.

“While it may not come as a surprise that an aged Hunter Valley Semillon took out the top award, it is without doubt one of the great wine styles of Australia with an enviable track record of both deliciousness and cellaring ability. To see these fledging wines bloom over time in the cellar into complex, benchmark wines that sing true of their variety and the land from which they hail is one of life’s great pleasures.

“We are indeed lucky to have one of the world’s benchmark wine styles right on our doorstep in the Hunter Valley.”

Tom Ward, president of the NSW Wine Industry Association, said: “We are very proud to see the variety of winners, not just across different wineries but across the different regions of NSW.

“The NSW Wine Awards has continued to evolve into ‘the’ premium wine show for all NSW wineries, truly showcasing the diversity and stunning quality of our wines. We are also delighted that this year our main trophy is being presented by the Governor of New South Wales and we are naming it the NSW Governor’s 2017 Best in Show Trophy.

“This shows the strengthening relationship between our state’s wine industry and the NSW Government.”

Full list of trophy winners:

Mudgee Wines Trophy for Best Young Riesling
Robert Stein 2017 Dry Riesling (Mudgee)

Pier One Trophy for Best Young Sauvignon Blanc
Highland Heritage Estate 2016 Fume Blanc (Orange)

NSW DPI Trophy for Best Young Semillon
Bimbadgen 2017 Signature Palmers Lane Semillon (Hunter Valley)

Longfellows Midland Trophy for Best Young Chardonnay
Brokenwood 2016 Forest Edge Chardonnay (Orange)

Pier One Trophy for Best Young White Other Varieties
Hungerford Hill 2016 Pinot Gris (Tumbarumba)

National Wine & Grape Industry Centre Trophy for Best Mature Dry White
Tyrrell’s 2005 Vat 1 Semillon (Hunter Valley)

Pier One Trophy for Best Light Red
De Iuliis Wines 2017 Special Release Grenache (Hilltops)

Orora Stelvin Trophy for Best Young Shiraz
Lerida Estate 2016 Shiraz (Canberra)

Riedel Trophy for Best Young Cabernet Sauvignon
Tamburlaine 2016 Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon (Orange)

MultiColor Trophy for Best Young Other Red Varieties
Briar Ridge 2016 Limited Release Tempranillo (Hilltops/Hunter)

Nexia Australia Trophy for Best Young Red Blend
Shaw Vineyard Estate 2015 Cabernet Sauvignon/Shiraz (Canberra)

Australia Post Trophy for Best Mature Red
Montoro Wines 2013 Pepper Shiraz (Orange)

NSW DPI Award for Best Organic Wine
Tamburlaine 2016 Orange Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon (Orange)

CiSRA Canon Trophy for Best Sparkling Wine
Courabyra Wines 2013 805 Sparkling (Tumbarumba)

Pier One Trophy for Best Sweet Wine
De Bortoli Wines Noble One 2015 Semillon (Riverina)

Pier One Trophy Best Dry White of Show
Tyrrell’s 2005 Vat 1 Semillon (Hunter Valley)

CCL Labels Trophy for Best Dry Red of Show
Lerida Estate 2016 Shiraz (Canberra)

NSW Governor’s Trophy for Best Wine in Show
Tyrrell’s 2005 Vat 1 Semillon (Hunter Valley)

• Photograph: Bruce Tyrrell with David Hurley and Kim Mahaffy.

Leave a Reply